DIsney doesn’t own the copyright to fairytales.

I made a fairytale EP  thread  awhile back and I bumped it recently and on it LittleV was claiming that Disney owned the copyrights to the fairytales, and also saying that Disney made them popular, and I said they were already popular years before Disney made them into movies or else they wouldn’t survive to this generation.    I mean wouldn’t saying Disney made them popular, be like saying Vegas made the Eiffel Tower famous?

And the fairytales, along with Peter pan, Jungle book, 101 Dalmatians, Alice in Wonderland are in the public domain.

I mean I don’t see Disney suing either the Shrek series (which I know is a spoof of Disney movies) or the “Sisters Grimms” series author  despite them both have: Cinderella/Snow White/Sleeping Beauty, the puppet boy, etc characters.

But Mickey mouse&co. ARE owned by Disney-so they can ask for a daycare to remove it.

2 Responses to “DIsney doesn’t own the copyright to fairytales.”

  1. jeanamariex3 Says:

    Actually, you’re right. Snow White, Cinderella, Aladdin, and Princess and the Frog are all fairy tails, that Disney adapted into films and famous Disney Princesses. My favorite Disney Princess, Pocahontas was a historical figure.

    • celoptra Says:

      exactly..even though her (Pochantas) story was first told by John Smith..years after it supposedly “happened”. My favs are Ariel, Jasmine, Belle, and Mulan.Since I really identify with those females.

Leave a Reply

